

## **RAW 2008**

# 15<sup>th</sup> Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop



April 14 – 15, 2008 Miami, Florida, USA http://www.ece.lsu.edu/vaidy/raw08

# **Call for Papers**



The 15<sup>th</sup> Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop (RAW 2008) will be held in Miami, Florida in April 2008. RAW 2008 is associated with the 22<sup>nd</sup> Annual International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS 2008) and is sponsored by the IEEE Computers Society's Technical Committee on Parallel Processing. The workshop is one of the major meetings for researchers to present ideas, results, and ongoing research on both theoretical and practical advances in Reconfigurable Computing.

#### Run-Time Reconfiguration & Adaptive Computing: Architectures, Algorithms, Technologies

Run-Time and Dynamic Reconfiguration are characterized by the ability of underlying hardware architectures or devices to rapidly alter (on the fly) the functionalities of its components and the interconnection between them to suit the problem. Key to this ability is reconfiguration handling and speed. Though theoretical models and algorithms for them have established reconfiguration as a very powerful computing paradigm, practical considerations make these models difficult to realize. On the other hand, commercially available devices (such as FPGAs and new coarse-/multi-grain devices) appear to have more room for exploiting run-time reconfiguration (RTR). An appropriate mix of the theoretical foundations of dynamic reconfiguration, and practical considerations, including architectures, technologies and tools supporting RTR is essential to fully reveal and exploit the possibilities created by this powerful computing paradigm. RAW 2008 aims to provide a forum for creative and productive interaction between all these disciplines.

#### **Topics of Interest**

Authors are invited to submit manuscripts of original unpublished research in all areas of dynamic and runtime reconfiguration (foundations, algorithms, hardware architectures, devices, systems-on-chip (SoC), technologies, software tools, and applications). The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

#### **Models & Architectures**

- Theoretical Interconnect and Computation Models
- RTR Models and Systems
- RTR Hardware Architectures
- Optical Interconnect Models
- Simulation and Prototyping
- Bounds and Complexity Issues •

### **Algorithms & Applications**

- Algorithmic Techniques
- Mapping Parallel Algorithms
- Distributed Systems & Networks
- Fault Tolerance Issues
- Wireless and Mobile Systems
- Automotive Applications
- Infotainment & Multimedia
- Biology Inspired Applications

### **Design, Technologies & Tools**

- Configurable Systems-on-Chip
- Energy Efficiency Issues
- Devices and Circuits
- Reconfiguration Techniques
- High Level Design Methods
- System Support
- Adaptive Runtime Systems
- Organic Computing

#### **Submission Guidelines:**

Authors should submit and register their paper through our web-interface which will be announced on the web-page: http://www.ece.lsu.edu/vaidy/raw08 by October 08, 2007. (Webinterface will be accessible after Sept. 1st, 2007)

All manuscripts will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Submissions should be a complete manuscript (not to exceed 8 pages of single spaced text, including figures and tables) or, in special cases, may be a summary of relevant work. Submissions should be in pdf-format (preferred), or alternatively in Postscript (level 2) format. Authors should make sure that the submission can be viewed using ghostscript and will print on standard letter size paper (8.5" x 11").

IEEE CS Press will publish the IPDPS symposium and workshop abstracts as a printed volume. The complete symposium and workshop proceedings will also be published by IEEE CS Press as a CD-ROM

#### **Important Dates:**

Manuscript due: October 15, 2007 Notification of acceptance: December 11, 2007 Camera-ready Papers Due: January 28, 2008

### **Organization:**

**Workshop Co Chairs:** Jürgen Becker, Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany

(becker@itiv.uni-karlsruhe.de)

Serge Vernalde, IMEC, Belgium

(vernalde@imec.be)

**Program Chair:** Neil Bergmann, University of Queensland, Australia

(bergmann@itee.uq.edu.au)

**Steering Chair:** Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA

(prasanna@ganges.usc.edu)

**Publicity Chair (USA):** Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University, USA

(vaidy@ece.lsu.edu)

Publicity Chair (Europe, Asia): Reiner Hartenstein, Kaiserslautern University of Technology, Germany

(reiner@hartenstein.de)

## **Program Committee:**

Vera Lauer

Jeff Arnold Stretch, Inc. **Rudy Lauwereins** IMEC, Leuven

Juergen Becker Universitaet Karlsruhe (TH) **Philip Leong** Chinese University of Hong Kong

Pascal Benoit LIRMM Wavne Luk Imperial College Mladen Berekovic **IMEC** Liam Marnane University College, Cork Neil Bergmann University of Queensland John McHenry National Security Agency

NICTA, Australia Martin Middendorf Universitäty of Leipzig Abbas Bigdeli Elaheh Bozorgzadeh UC. Irvine Gerald Morris US Army

Hiroshima University University of Edinburgh Gordon Brebner Koji Nakano

**Thomas Buechner IBM** Jingzhao Ou Xilinx Inc.

Luigi Carro **Joachim Pistorius** Universidade Federal do Rio Grande Altera Inc. San Francisco State University Anna University, Chennai Ying Chen Ranjani Parthasarathi

Peter Y. K. Cheung Cameron Patterson Imperial College, London Virginia Tech CCC INAOE, Mexico Thilo Pionteck Universität Lübeck Rene Cumplido **Andreas Dandalis** Silicon Hive Marco Platzner Universität Paderborn

University of New South Wales Université de Bretagne Occidentale Oliver Diessel **Bernard Pottier** 

Universität Paderborn Adam Donlin Xilinx Inc. Franz Rammig

Pedro C. Diniz University of Southern California Universidade Federal do Rio Grande Ricardo Reis

Gilbert Edelin Gilbert Edelin Marco Santambrogio Politecnico di Milano Hatem El-Boghdadi Cairo University **Hartmut Schmeck** Universität Karlsruhe (TH)

Darmstadt University of Technology Manfred Glesner Sakir Sezer Queen's University **Steve Guccione** Quicksilver Technology **Gerard Smit** University of Twente

Masanori Hariyama Tohoku University Srinivas Katkoori University of South Florida Reiner Hartenstein University of Kaiserslautern Juergen Teich Universitaet Erlangen Ulrich Heinkel Lucent Technologies **Lionel Torres** LIRMM, Montpellier **Andreas Herkersdorf** Institute for Integrated Systems Jim Tørresen University of Oslo **Christian Hochberger** Dresden University of Technology Jerry L. Trahan Louisiana State University

**Thomas Hollstein** Darmstadt University of Technology **Matthias Traub** Daimler AG

Michael Hübner Universität Karlsruhe (TH) Ramachandran Vaidyanathan Louisiana State University

Universität Leipzig **Udo Kebschull** Carlos Valderrama University Mons

**Andreas Koch** Darmstadt University of Technology **Brian Veale IBM** 

Rainer Kress Infineon Technologies Klaus Waldschmidt Universität Frankfurt Helena Krupnova ST Microelectronics Norbert Wehn University of Kaiserslautern **Grant Wigley** University of South Australia Patrick Lysaght DaimlerChrysler AG John Williams University of Queensland