







April 25–26, 2006
Rodos Palace Resort Hotel
Rhodes Island, Greece
www-raw06.itiv.uni-karlsruhe.de

The 13<sup>th</sup> Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop (RAW 2006) will be held in Rhodes April 2006. RAW 2006 is associated with the 20<sup>th</sup> Annual International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS 2006) and is sponsored by the IEEE Computers Society's Technical Committee on Parallel Processing. RAW 2006 is one of the major meetings for researchers to present ideas, results, and on-going research on both theoretical and practical advances in Reconfigurable Computing.

# Run-Time Reconfiguration & Adaptive Computing: Architectures, Algorithms, Technologies

Run-Time and Dynamic Reconfiguration are characterized by the ability of underlying hardware architectures or devices to rapidly alter (on the fly) the functionalities of its components and the interconnection between them to suit the problem. Key to this ability is reconfiguration handling and speed. Though theoretical models and algorithms for them have established reconfiguration as a very powerful computing paradigm, practical considerations make these models difficult to realize. On the other hand, commercially available devices (such as FPGAs and new coarse-/multi-grain devices) appear to have more room for exploiting run-time reconfiguration (RTR). An appropriate mix of the theoretical foundations of dynamic reconfiguration, and practical considerations, including architectures, technologies and tools supporting RTR is essential to fully reveal and exploit the possibilities created by this powerful computing paradigm. RAW 2005 aims to provide a forum for creative and productive interaction between all these disciplines.

# Topics of Interest

Authors are invited to submit manuscripts of original unpublished research in all areas of dynamic and run-time reconfiguration (foundations, algorithms, hardware architectures, devices, systems-on-chip (SoC), technologies, software tools and applications). The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

#### Models & Architectures

Theoretical Interconnect and ComputationModels (R-Mesh, etc.), RTR Models and Systems, RTR Hardware Architectures, Optical Interconnect Models, Simulation and Prototyping, Bounds and Complexity Issues

#### Algorithms & Applications

Algorithmic Techniques, Mapping Parallel Algorithms, Distributed Systems & Networks, Fault Tolerance Issues, Wireless and Mobile Systems, Automotive Applications, Infotainment and Multimedia, Biology Inspired Applications

## Design, Technologies & Tools

Configurable Systems-on-Chip, Energy Efficiency Issues, Devices and Circuits, Reconfiguration Techniques, High Level Design Methods, System Support, Adaptive Runtime Systems, Organic Computing





### **Submission Guidelines**

Authors should submit and register their paper through our web-interface at www-raw06.itiv.uni-karlsruhe.de by October 25. (Webinterface will be accessible after Sept. 1st, 2005)

All manuscripts will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Submissions should be a complete manuscript (not to exceed 8 pages of single spaced text, including figures and tables) or, in special cases, may be a summary of relevant work. Submissions should be in pdf-format (preferred), or alternatively in Postscript (level 2) format. Authors should make sure that the submission can be viewed using ghostscript and will print on standard letter size paper (8.5" x 11").IEEE CS Press will publish the IPDPS symposium and workshop abstracts as a printed volume. The complete symposium and workshop proceedings will also be published by IEEE CS Press as a CD-ROM disk.

Important Dates:

Manuscript due: October 25, 2005

Notification of acceptance: December 17, 2005

Final version due: January 25, 2006

## Organization

Workshop Chair Serge Vernalde, IMEC, Belgium (vernalde@imec.be)

Program Chair

Steering Chair

Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA (prasanna@ganges.usc.edu)

Publicity Chair (USA)

Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University, USA (vaidy@ece.lsu.edu)

Publicity Chair (Europe) Reiner Hartenstein, Kaiserslautern University of Technology, Germany (reiner@hartenstein.de)

## **Program Committee**

Jeffrey Arnold Adaptive Silicon Inc.

Sergio Bampi Universidade Federal do Rio Grande

Jürgen Becker Universität Karlsruhe (TH)

Pascal Benoit LIRMM, Montpellier

Mladen Berekovic IMEC, Belgium

Neil Bergmann University of Queensland

Don Bouldin University of Tennessee

Gordon Brebner University of Edinburgh

Klaus Buchenrieder Universität der Bundeswehr München

Thomas Buechner IBM

Stephen Chappell Celoxica

Luigi Carro Universidade Federal do Rio Grande

Peter Y. K. Cheung Imperial College

Adreas Dandalis Philips

Jose T. de Sousa Technical University of Lisbon

Oliver Diessel University of New South Wales

Adam Donlin Xilinx Inc.

Pedro C. Diniz University of Southern California/ISI

Gilbert Edelin Thales Research & Technology

Hossam ElGindy University of New South Wales

Patrick Girard LIRMM, Montpellier Manfred Glesner Darmstadt University of Technology

Steve Guccione Cmpware Inc.

Klaus Harbich Bosch

Masanori Hariyama Tohoku University

Reiner Hartenstein Kaiserslautern Univ. of Technology

Ulrich Heinkel Chemnitz Univ. of Technology

Andreas Herkersdorf Munich University of Technology

Christian Hochberger Dresden University of Technology Thomas Hollstein Darmstadt University of Technology

Mike Hutton Altera, USA

Michael Hübner Universität Karlsruhe (TH)

Mark Jones Virginia Tech

Theodore Karoubalis Atmel

Srinivas Katkoori University of South Florida

Udo Kebschull Universität Heidelberg

Andreas Koch Technische Universität Braunschweig

Rainer Kress Infineon Technologies

Wido Kruitzer Philips

Helena Krupnova ST Microelectronics Rudy Lauwereins IMEC, Belgium

Philip Leong Chinese University of Hong Kong

Marnane Liam University College

Rong Lin State University of New York, Genesco

Wayne Luk Imperial College

Juergen Luka DaimlerChrysler AG

Patrick Lysaght Xilinx

M. Marek-Sadowska University of California, Santa Barbara

John McHenry National Security Agency

Martin Middendorf University of Leipzig

Dietmar Müller Technische Universitaet Chemnitz Amar Mukherjee University of Central Florida

Vincent Mooney III Georgia Institute of Technology

Koji Nakano, Hiroshima University

Ranjani Parthasarathi Anna University, Chennai

Steven Perry, Altera

Marco Platzner Universität Paderborn

Cameron Patterson Virginia Tech

Bernard Pottier Université de Bretagne Occidentale

Franz Rammig Universität Paderborn

Ricardo Reis Universidade Federal do Rio Grande

Hartmut Schmeck Universität Karlsruhe (TH)

Sakir Sezer Queen's University

Gerard Smit University of Twente

V. Sridhar Satyam Computer Services Ltd.

Jürgen Teich Universitaet Erlangen-Nuremberg

Lionel Torres LIRMM, Montpellier

Jim Tørresen University of Oslo

Jerry L. Trahan Louisiana State University

R. Vaidyanathan Louisiana State University

Carlos Valderrama University Mons

Milan Vasilko Bournemouth University

Stamatis Vassiliadis Delft University of Technology

Brian Veale University of Oklahoma

Martin Vorbach PACT XPP Technologies

Klaus Waldschmidt Universität Frankfurt

Norbert Wehn Kaiserslautern Univ. of Technology