RAW 2004



11th Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop



Monday, 26 April – Tuesday, 27 April, 2004 Eldorado Hotel Santa Fé, New Mexico, USA http://www.ece.lsu.edu/vaidy/raw04/

1st Call For Papers

Submission Deadline: October 30, 2003 For more information e-mail: info@ipdps.org



The 11th Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop (RAW 2004) will be held at the Eldorado Hotel Santa Fé, New Mexico on Monday, April 26, 2004. RAW 2004 is associated with the 18th Annual International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS 2004) and is sponsored by the IEEE Computers Society's Technical Committee on Parallel Processing. RAW 2004 is one of the major meetings for researchers to present ideas, results, and on-going research on both theoretical and practical advances in Reconfigurable Computing.

Run-Time & Dynamic Reconfiguration: Architectures, Algorithms, Technologies

Run-Time and Dynamic Reconfiguration are characterized by the ability of underlying hardware architectures or devices to rapidly alter (on the fly) the functionalities of its components and the interconnection between them to suit the problem. Key to this ability is reconfiguration handling and speed. Though theoretical models and algorithms for them have established reconfiguration as a very powerful computing paradigm, practical considerations make these models difficult to realize. On the other hand, commercially available devices (such as FPGAs and new coarse-grain FPFAs) appear to have more room for exploiting run-time reconfiguration (RTR). An appropriate mix of the theoretical foundations of dynamic reconfiguration, and practical considerations, including architectures, technologies and tools supporting RTR is essential to fully reveal and exploit the possibilities created by this powerful computing paradigm. RAW 2004 aims to provide a forum for creative and productive interaction between all these disciplines.

Topics of Interest:

Authors are invited to submit manuscripts of original unpublished research in all areas of dynamic and runtime reconfiguration (foundations, algorithms, hardware architectures, devices, systems-on-chip (SoC), technologies, software tools, and applications). The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Models & Architectures

- Theoretical Models (R-Mesh, etc.)
- RTR Models and Systems
- RTR Hardware Architectures
- Optical Interconnect Models
- Simulation and Prototyping
- Bounds and Complexity Issues

Algorithms & Applications

- Algorithmic Techniques
- Mapping Parallel Algorithms
- Distributed Systems & Networks
- Fault Tolerance Issues
- Wireless and Mobile Systems
- Automotive Applications, etc.

Technologies & Tools

- Configurable Systems-on-Chip
- Energy Efficiency Issues
- Devices and Circuits
- Reconfiguration Techniques
- High Level Design Methods
- System support

Submission Guidelines:

Authors should submit per email an electronic version of their work by October 30, 2003 to Serge Vernalde, IMEC, Belgium (<u>vernalde@imec.be</u>) AND register their paper through our web-interface at: http://www.ece.lsu.edu/vaidy/raw04/

All manuscripts will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Submissions should be a complete manuscript (not to exceed 8 pages of single spaced text, including figures and tables) or, in special cases, may be a summary of relevant work. Submissions should be in pdf-format (preferred), or alternatively in Postscript (level 2) format. Authors should make sure that the submission can be viewed using ghostscript and will print on standard letter size paper (8.5" x 11").

IEEE CS Press will publish the IPDPS symposium and workshop abstracts as a printed volume. The complete symposium and workshop proceedings will also be published by IEEE CS Press as a CD-ROM disk.

Important Dates:

Manuscript due: October 30, 2003 Notification of acceptance/rejection: November, 2003 Final version due: January , 2004

Organization:

Workshop Chair: Jürgen Becker, Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany

(becker@itiv.uni-karlsruhe.de)

Program Chair: Serge Vernalde, IMEC, Belgium

(raw2004@imec.be)

Steering Chair: Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA

(prasanna@ganges.usc.edu)

Publicity Chair (USA): Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University, USA

(vaidy@ece.lsu.edu)

Publicity Chair (Europe, Asia): Reiner Hartenstein, Kaiserslautern University of Technology, Germany

(reiner@hartenstein.de)

Program Committee:

USA

Wayne Luk

Juergen Luka

Imperial College, UK

DaimlerChrysler AG, Germany

•	Jeffrey Arnold	Adaptive Silicon Inc., USA	•	Patrick Lysaght	Xilinx, USA
	Juergen Becker	Universitaet Karlsruhe (TH), Germany		Malgorzata Marek-Sadowska	University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
•	Neil Bergmann	University of Queensland, Australia		John McHenry	National Security Agency, USA
•	Christophe Bobda	Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany		Alessandro Mei	University Rome "La Sapienza", Italy
•	Don Bouldin	University of Tennessee, USA		Martin Middendorf	Universitäty of Leipzig, Germany
•	Gordon Brebner	University of Edinburgh, UK	•	Dietmar Mueller	Technische Universitaet Chemnitz, Germany
•	Klaus Buchenrieder	Infineon Technologies, Germany	•	Amar Mukherjee	University of Central Florida, USA
•	Thomas Buechner	IBM, Germany		Koji Nakano	Hiroshima University, Japan
•	Steve Casselman	Virtual Computer Corporation, USA	•	Ranjani Parthasarathi	School of Computer Science and Engineering, Anna University, Chennai, India
•	Peter Y. K. Cheung	Imperial College of Science Technology & Medicine, London, UK	•	Marco Platzner	Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zuerich, Switzerland
•	Oliver Diessel	University of New South Wales, Australia	•	Bernard Pottier	Université de Bretagne Occidentale, France
•	Pedro C. Diniz	university of Southern California/ISI, USA	•	Franz Rammig	Universität Paderborn, Germany
•	Carl Ebeling	University of Washington, USA	•	Michel Renovell	LIRMM, France
•	Hossam ElGindy	University of New South Wales, Australia	•	Peter Roth	IBM, Germany
•	Patrick Girard	LIRMM, France	•	John Schewel	Virtual Computer Corp., USA
•	Manfred Glesner	Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany	•	Hartmut Schmeck	Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany
•	Herbert Gruenbacher	Vienna University of Technology, Austria	•	Sakir Sezer	Queen's University, N. Ireland, U.K
•	Steve Guccione	Quicksilver Technology, USA	•	Gerard Smit	University of Twente, The Netherlands
•	Wolfram Hardt	Technische Universität Chemnitz, Germany	•	V. Sridhar	Satyam Computer Services Ltd., India
•	Reiner Hartenstein	University of Kaiserslautern, Germany	•	Juergen Teich	Friedrich-Alexander-Universitaet Erlangen, Germany
•	Ulrich Heinkel	Lucent Technologies, Germany	•	Lionel Torres	LIRMM, Montpellier, France
•	Mark Jones	Virginia Tech, USA	•	Jim Tørresen	University of Oslo, Norway
•	Mohammed A. S. Khalid	Cadence Design Systems, USA	•	Jerry L. Trahan	Louisiana State University, USA
•	Hyoung-Joong Kim	Kangwon National University, Korea	•	Ramachandran Vaidyanathan	Louisiana State University, USA
•	Fabrice Kordon	Université Pierre & Marie Curie, Paris, France	•	Milan Vasilko	Bournemouth University, UK
•	Rainer Kress	Infineon Technologies, Germany	•	Stamatis Vassiliadis	Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
•	Markus Kuehl	Forschungszentrum Informatik (FZI), Karlsruhe, Germany	•	Serge Vernalde	IMEC, Belgium
•	Rudy Lauwereins	IMEC, Leuven, Belgium	•	Martin Vorbach	PACT Informationstechnologie, Germany
•	Philip Leong	Chinese University of Hong Kong, China	•	K. Waldschmidt	Universität Frankfurt, Germany
•	Marnane Liam	University College, Ireland	•	Norbert Wehn	University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
•	Rong Lin	State University of New York, Genesco,	•	Hans Christoph Zeidler	Universitaet der Bundeswehr Hamburg,

Peixin Zhong

Germany

Lucent Technologies, USA