



13th Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop

RAW 2006

April 26 – 27, 2006 Rodos Palace Resort Hotel, Rhodes Island, Greece http://www.ece.lsu.edu/vaidy/raw06/

> **Call for Papers** Submission Deadline: October 25, 2005



The 13th Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop (RAW 2006) will be held in Rhodes April 2006. RAW 2006 is associated with the 20th Annual International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS 2006) and is sponsored by the IEEE Computers Society's Technical Committee on Parallel Processing. RAW 2006 is one of the major meetings for researchers to present ideas, results, and on-going research on both theoretical and practical advances in Reconfigurable Computing.

Run-Time Reconfiguration & Adaptive Computing: Architectures, Algorithms, Technologies

Run-Time and Dynamic Reconfiguration are characterized by the ability of underlying hardware architectures or devices to rapidly alter (on the fly) the functionalities of its components and the interconnection between them to suit the problem. Key to this ability is reconfiguration handling and speed. Though theoretical models and algorithms for them have established reconfiguration as a very powerful computing paradigm, practical considerations make these models difficult to realize. On the other hand, commercially available devices (such as FPGAs and new coarse-/multi-grain devices) appear to have more room for exploiting run-time reconfiguration (RTR). An appropriate mix of the theoretical foundations of dynamic reconfiguration, and practical considerations, including architectures, technologies and tools supporting RTR is essential to fully reveal and exploit the possibilities created by this powerful computing paradigm. RAW 2005 aims to provide a forum for creative and productive interaction between all these disciplines.

Topics of Interest

Authors are invited to submit manuscripts of original unpublished research in all areas of dynamic and runtime reconfiguration (foundations, algorithms, hardware architectures, devices, systems-on-chip (SoC), technologies, software tools, and applications). The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Models & Architectures

- Theoretical Interconnect & Computational Models
- RTR Models and Systems
- RTR Hardware Architectures
- Optical Interconnect Models
- Simulation and Prototyping
- Bounds and Complexity
 Issues

Algorithms & Applications

- Algorithmic Techniques
- Mapping Parallel Algorithms
- Distributed Systems/Networks
- Fault Tolerance Issues
- Wireless & Mobile Systems
- Automotive Applications
- Infotainment & Multimedia
- Biology Inspired Applications

Design, Technologies & Tools

- Configurable Systems-on-Chip
- Energy Efficiency Issues
- Devices and Circuits
- Reconfiguration Techniques
- High Level Design Methods
- System Support
- Adaptive Runtime Systems
- Organic Computing

Submission Guidelines:

Authors should submit and register their paper by October 25, 2005 through our web-interface that will be accessible after September 1, 2005 at: http://www-raw06.itiv.uni-karlsruhe.de

All manuscripts will be reviewed by at least three members of the program committee. Submissions should be a complete manuscript (not to exceed 8 pages of single spaced text, including figures and tables) or, in special cases, may be a summary of relevant work. Submissions should be in pdf-format (preferred), or alternatively in Postscript (level 2) format. Authors should make sure that the submission can be viewed using ghostscript and will print on standard letter size paper (8.5" x 11"). IEEE CS Press will publish the IPDPS symposium and workshop abstracts as a printed volume. The complete symposium and workshop proceedings will also be published by IEEE CS Press as a CD-ROM disk.

Important Dates:	Manuscript due:	October 25, 2005
	Notification of acceptance:	December 17, 2005
	Final version due:	January 21, 2006

Organization:

Workshop Chair:	Serge Vernalde, IMEC, Belgium (vernalde@imec.be)	
Program Chair:	Jürgen Becker, Universität Karlsruhe (TH), Germany (becker@itiv.uni-karlsruhe.de)	
Steering Chair:	Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA (prasanna@ganges.usc.edu)	
Publicity Chair (USA):	Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University, USA (vaidy@ece.lsu.edu)	
Publicity Chair (Europe, Asia):	Reiner Hartenstein, Kaiserslautern University of Technology, Germany	

Program Committee (to be confirmed):

Jeffrey Arnold	Adaptive Silicon Inc.,	Helena Krupnova	ST Microelectronics
Sergio Bampi	Universidade Federal do Rio Grande	Rudy Lauwereins	IMEC, Leuven
Jürgen Becker	Universität Karlsruhe (TH)	Philip Leong	Chinese University of Hong Kong
Pascal Benoit	LIRMM, Montpellier	Marnane Liam	University College
Mladen Berekovic	IMEC	Rong Lin	State University of New York, Genesco
Neil Bergmann	University of Queensland	Wayne Luk	Imperial College
Don Bouldin	University of Tennessee	Juergen Luka	DaimlerChrysler AG
Gordon Brebner	University of Edinburgh	Patrick Lysaght	Xilinx
Klaus Buchenrieder	Universität der Bundeswehr München	M. Marek-Sadowska	University of California, Santa Barbara
Thomas Buechner	IBM	John McHenry	National Security Agency
Stephen Chappell	Celoxica	Martin Middendorf	Universitäty of Leipzig
Brendan Cremen	Xilinx	Dietmar Mueller	Technische Universitaet Chemnitz
Luigi Carro	Universidade Federal do Rio Grande	Amar Mukherjee	University of Central Florida
Peter Y. K. Cheung	Imperial College	Vincent Mooney III	Georgia Institute of Technology
Adreas Dandalis	Philips	Koji Nakano	Hiroshima University
Jose T. de Sousa	Technical University of Lisbon	Ranjani Parthasarathi	Anna University, Chennai
Oliver Diessel	University of New South Wales	Steven Perry	Altera
Adam Donlin	Xilinx	Marco Platzner	Universität Paderborn
Pedro C. Diniz	University of Southern California/ISI	Cameron Patterson	Virginia Tech
Gilbert Edelin	Thales Research & Technology	Bernard Pottier	Université de Bretagne Occidentale
Hossam ElGindy	University of New South Wales	Franz Rammig	Universität Paderborn
Patrick Girard	LIRMM	Ricardo Reis	Universidade Federal do Rio Grande
Manfred Glesner	Darmstadt University of Technology	Hartmut Schmeck	Universität Karlsruhe (TH)
Steve Guccione	Cmpware Inc.	Sakir Sezer	Queen's University
Klaus Harbich	Bosch	Gerard Smit	University of Twente
Reiner Hartenstein	Kaiserslautern Univ. of Technology	V. Sridhar	Satyam Computer Services Ltd.
Ulrich Heinkel	Lucent Technologies	Jürgen Teich	Universitaet Erlangen-Nuremberg
Andreas Herkersdorf	Institute for Integrated Systems	Lionel Torres	LIRMM, Montpellier
Christian Hochberger	Dresden University of Technology	Jim Tørresen	University of Oslo
Thomas Hollstein	Darmstadt University of Technology	Jerry L. Trahan	Louisiana State University
Mike Hutton	Altera, USA	R. Vaidyanathan	Louisiana State University
Michael Hübner	Universität Karlsruhe (TH)	Milan Vasilko	Bournemouth University
Mark Jones	Virginia Tech	Stamatis Vassiliadis	Delft University of Technology
Theodore Karoubalis	Atmel	Brian Veale	University of Oklahoma
Udo Kebschull	Universität Leipzig	Martin Vorbach	PACT Informationstechnologie
Andreas Koch	Technische Universität Braunschweig	Klaus Waldschmidt	Universität Frankfurt
Rainer Kress	Infineon Technologies	Norbert Wehn	University of Kaiserslautern
Wido Kruitzer	Philips		