Current PhD Students

  • Samuel Irving (Starting from Fall 2012 – ). Donald W. Clayton Ph.D. Assistantship recipient (2014-2017). Half-time student.
  • Travis D LeCompte (Starting from Fall 2017 -). Louisiana Board of Regents Fellowship recipient (2017-2021).
  • Tao Lu (Starting from Fall 2017 -).
  • Haoqiang Guo (Starting from Fall 2018 – ).


  • Lide Duan, PhD, Fall 2011, Dissertation title: “Analyzing and Predicting Processor Vulnerability to Soft Errors Using Statistical Techniques,” Research intern at LLNL (Summer 2011), First employment: AMD, Austin, TX. Current employment: Assistant Professor at The University of Texas at San Antonio.
  • Ying Zhang, PhD, Fall 2013, Dissertation title: “Exploiting Heterogeneity in Chip Multi-Processor Design,” Research intern at Intel Research Labs (Dec. 2011 – Jun. 2012). First employment: Intel, Santa Clara, CA.
  • Shaoming Chen, PhD, Summer 2016, Dissertation title: “Increasing Off-Chip Bandwidth and Mitigating Dark Silicon via Switchable Pins,” Research intern at AMD Research Lab (Spring and Summer 2016), Austin, TX. First employment: AMD, Austin, TX.
  • Sui Chen PhD, Fall 2017, Dissertation title: “Conflict Reduction Techniques for GPU Transactional Memory Systems,” Visiting student at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), summer 2012. First employment: AMD, Sunnyvale, CA.
  • Tribuvan Kumar Prakash, MS, Summer 2007, Thesis title: “Performance Analysis of Intel Core 2 Duo Processor”, First employment: Realization Technologies, Inc., San Jose, CA.
  • Ran Tao, MS, Summer 2009, Thesis title: “Sophisticated Denial-of-Service Attack Detections Through Integrated Architectural, OS, and Application Level Events Monitoring”, First employment: Texas Memory Systems, Houston, TX.
  • Balachandran Ramadass, MS, Summer 2009, Thesis title: “Processor Design Space Exploration and Performance Prediction”, First employment: Software Engineer in Nerjyzed Entertainment, Baton Rouge, LA.
  • Ying Zhang, MS, Fall 2013. Thesis title: “Performance and Power Comparisons between Fermi and Cypress GPUs”.
  • Shaoming Chen, MS, Spring 2015. Thesis title: “Optimization of Operational Costs in Data Centers”.
  • Sui Chen, MS, Summer 2016, Thesis title: “Enhancing Program Soft Error Resilience through Algorithmic Approaches.”
  • Samuel Irving, MS, Spring 2018, Thesis title: “Resampling Methods and Visualization Tools for Computer Performance Comparisons in the Presence of Performance Variation.”
  • Prabesh Pokhrel, MS (non-thesis option) awarded in Fall 2008.
  • Jeremy Menter, student in the “Chancellor’s Future Leaders in Research” program, graduated in Spring 2010.

Comments are closed.